AFL - Australian Football League

The AFL - Australian Football League is the pre-eminent and only fully professional competition of Australian rules football.

It was originally named the VFL - Victorian Football League and was founded in 1896 as a breakaway competition from the Victorian Football Association with its inaugural season in 1897.

It changed its name to Australian Football League in 1990 after expanding its competiton to other Australian states in the 1980s.

The AFL publishes its Laws of Australian football which are used with variations by football organistions.

The AFL competition currently consists of 18 teams spread over five of Australia's six states are tasmania being the exception.

Matches have been played in all states the Australian Capital Terriory and Northern Territory as well as in New Zealand and China to expand the AFL audience.

The AFL season currently consists of a 23 round regular season which runs during the Australian winter.

The team with the best record after the home and away season is awarded the minor premiership.

Thanks For Reading!

Next:- Michael Gambon Who Played Dumbledore Dies